Uncategorized

My Favourite Things About Spring | Johanna

Hey guys! I’ve missed you.

This past week,  I’ve had been spending a lot of time thinking about what I should blog about next. Things that I could make, show you, or talk about. It got to the point where I was pretty stumped, so I decided to take a walk outside to help freshen my mind. It’s something I do quite often when having a writers block.

As I was strolling along, I began to notice how beautiful the weather has been lately. How the grey clouds are clearing up to reveal a beautiful blue sky, how its been getting much warmer and how the heavy snow is melting, revealing bits and pieces of the yellow grass underneath. I realized just how quickly spring is approaching.

And then it happened. From then on I knew what I was going to blog about.

Spring time is my favourite season for so many reasons. It is what I believe, one of the most amazing things about mother nature. Just over the course of a few weeks, the outside completely transforms itself.

So for my love and passion of the upcoming season, thought I would talk a little about my favourite things about spring.

 

  1. The fragrant air.

 

I’ve always thought that every season comes with its own signature scent. For spring, it’s the fragrance of the flowers and grass sprouting around me. It’s the smell of the rain on the pavement while I’m splashing in puddles with my red rain boots, (that are btw 2 sizes too small) or it’s the smell of books while I’m snuggled up inside, all warm and toasty with a blanket and music. No candle or brand of perfume could ever come close to replacing the smell of spring.images

  1. Birds in the morning.

Some despise the sound in the early hours of the morning. I on the other hand, actually look forward to the days that I can wake up, sit in bed and listen to the birds chirp. It’s like they’re calling each other and having little conversations amongst one another. It’s something that I’ve been doing all my life. And ever year, on a certain day, it feels as though all of the baby birds were born overnight, creating a beautiful orchestra of “Tweet tweet”

  1. The colours

Winter was the season of no colour. If you were to match winter to colour scale, you would probably get shades of white, grey, black and brown. However, spring is when mother nature spring back into action, with beautiful vibrant purples, pinks and greens, all which I prefer much more.

 images-1

  1. Opening windows

I try to open the windows as early into the season as possible – even if it’s only 15 degrees outside! Maybe it’s the smell, or the sounds or the fresh air. Whatever it is, it’s like heaven to me.

   5.  No more winter blues

Around the middle of January to the middle of February, I begin to get a very slight case of seasonal depression, or what many call “the winter blues”. I don’t know what it is, whether it’s because it’s so cold or if it’s because the days are so short and I’m not getting enough sunlight, but I feel sadder, more tired and meaner than usual. Luckily, when the spring time comes, all of that melts away (no pun intended) and I feel so much better.

154977-Bleeding-Heart-After-Spring-Rain-

 6.  The promise of summer

And of course, right after spring comes summer! Don’t ever complain to me about the heat. Summer is blessed in so many ways. But we’ll save that for another time.

Best wishes and take care,

Johanna ❤

 

Leave a Reply

