Food

Simply Crepes! | Johanna

Why hello again!

I hope you haven’t forgotten me. I apologize for my recent absence. My sister came home last weekend and I completely put off blogging. She only comes home a few times a year I love to spend time with her. We have a really big age gap but we’re really, really close. I like to think of our relationship being very similar to Rory and Lorelei’s from Gilmore Girls, except without the whole mother-daughter, teen pregnancy thing.

Getting off topic. Anywaaays… thank you Aria for filling in for me last week. This post, I have something very special to share with you. It’s one of my most favourite things in the entire world. Commence the drum roll please!

Crepes!! My most treasured crepe recipe to be exact. I adore crepes and could have them for every breakfast of my entire life if I were allowed to.

I’d say my obsession began around the time when I read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. It’s a fantastic book that I really enjoyed reading.For those of you who haven’t read it, Anna and the French Kiss is pretty much about a young girl who begins to attend school in Paris, France. Her main challenges include:

  1. The huge issue of not knowing the French language
  2. A boy that she thinks she’s falling in love with. Only he’s taken.

Thats all I’m sharing for now. Anyways, what does this book have anything to do with crepes? Well, while Anna was in Paris, she raved about going to tons of delicious crepe restaurants. Obviously, I got a bit curious, so I found a recipe online and decided to try them out myself. I’m so glad I did.

I’ve tried a few other crepe recipes tumblr_m5ynkdZblT1rxgaoqo5_250and have also found myself coming back to this one. Its just too good. However, I have altered it a little bit to my liking.

They’re light, fluffy, sweet and healthy, all at the same time (I didn’t even know that was possible.) It’s a really great recipe and you can top them with anything.

So, here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tablespoon of sugar
  • A pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cups of soy milk
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • a few drops of vanilla (My favourite part)
  • Any toppings of your choosing

 

Start by mixing the flour,sugar and salt in a large bowl and set aside. Then, in a medium sized bowl, mix the milk, egg and vanilla together. Add the mixture to the dry mixture and whisk together until it is smooth with no bumps or flour showing through. Cover in with a plastic wrap and put in the fridge for approx. 15 min to thicken the mixture before cooking.

Keep on Medium-High heat and put a pinch of cooking oil in a pan. Pour about 1/2 of the mixture in and flip after the bottom of the crepe solidifies. Make sure to do this quickly, or else the crepe will burn! Don’t worry if you don’t get it good the first time. Practice makes perfect! Do the same with the rest of the mixture.

Enjoy!

Lots of love,

– Johanna

 

4 thoughts on “Simply Crepes! | Johanna

Leave a Reply

